News and HeadlinesEducation


Indiana Department of Education announces 2024 Indiana Teacher of the Year finalists 

Posted at 11:44 AM, Aug 22, 2023

INDIANAPOLIS — The Indiana Department of Education recently announced the finalists for the 2024 Indiana Teacher of the Year.

The Indiana Teacher of the Year program has recognized outstanding teachers across the state who are making a difference for Hoosier students for more than 60 years.

This year's finalists include many from central Indiana.

The finalists are:

  • Veronica Butler — Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation
  • Robi Davidson — Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation
  • Brandon Denning — Indianapolis Public Schools
  • Callie Hoppes — MSD Warren Township
  • Gina Iacobucci — Community School Corporation of Southern Hancock County
  • Eric Jenkins — Franklin Community Schools
  • Eric Phagan — Madison Consolidated Schools
  • Jonee Sutton — Beech Grove City Schools
  • Matt Thomas — Valparaiso Community Schools
  • Natalie Wheeler — Western School Corporation

“Becoming a teacher is a calling, driven by the desire to make a difference in the lives of students,” said Dr. Katie Jenner, Indiana Secretary of Education. “The small, everyday actions of teachers have a profound impact, which can be felt for weeks, months and even years to come. Indiana’s Teacher of the Year program is one way that we can elevate this important work and celebrate the individual teachers who are creating positive change in our state, one student at a time. Congratulations and thank you to each of our top 10 finalists."
Finalists are selected from these applicants by a committee made up of former Teachers of the Year, IDOE staff, educational organization leaders, business and community leaders and representatives from higher education.

The Indiana Teacher of the Year, who will be announced this fall.