News and HeadlinesIndianapolis Local News


500's elite drivers honored with bricks at start-finish line

Posted at 11:17 AM, Apr 25, 2019

SPEEDWAY — A.J.Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears.

They are the elite group of four-time Indianapolis 500 winners.

Between 1961 and 1991, they took the checkered flag a combined 12 times.

Now, each is being honored with a bronze brick to be placed at the start-finish line of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

With the 84-year-old Foyt doing the honors, the bricks were unveiled Thursday at the track.

They are the creation of Bud Tucker, the weld shop foreman at IMS who is also an artist, working with metals and sculpture.

Foyt won the 500 in 1961, 64, 67 and 77.

Mears did it in 1979, 84, 88 and 91.

Unser was a back-to-back winner in 1970 and 71, and also won in 1978 and 87.

Among current drivers, only Helio Castroneves is a three-time champ.

Will Castroneves get his own brick?

We'll find out next month.