News

Actions

When you can and can't set off fireworks

Posted at 12:48 PM, Jun 27, 2017
and last updated 2017-06-27 16:00:18-04

INDIANAPOLIS -- Let the fun begin!

Here are the hours and dates you can use fireworks as set out by ordinance:

  • From 5 p.m. until two hours after sunset from June 28 through July 3
  • 10 a.m. to midnight on July 4
  • From 5 p.m. until two hours after sunset July 5 through July 9

Under Indiana law, you must be at least 18 years old to buy fireworks and you must have someone who is 18 or older present when fireworks are being set off.

If you violate the fireworks ordinance, here is what you could face:

  • $100 fine for the first offense in any 12-month period
  • Minimum of $500 for the second offense in any 12-month period
  • Up to $2,500 for the third and subsequent offenses in any 12-month period

If someone is setting off fireworks outside the hours outlined in the ordinance, you can call the IMPD non-emergency number at (317) 327-3811.

FULL LIST | Fireworks displays around central Indiana

MORE TOP STORIES | Delphi murders: 4 months later, investigators say they're 'close' to finding Libby & Abby's killer  Delphi: Unseen photos of Libby German & Abby Williams |  If your Marsh isn't on this map, it's closing | Parents charged while drinking with infant at Indianapolis bar | Police identify woman killed by flying tire on I-465