New justice named to Indiana Supreme Court

Posted at 3:01 PM, May 09, 2016
and last updated 2016-05-09 19:30:01-04

INDIANAPOLIS -- Geoffrey G. Slaughter was named as the 109th Justice to the Indiana Supreme Court on Monday.

In making the announcement, Governor Mike Pence said, "Over his nearly 30-year career, Geoff Slaughter has demonstrated a first-rate legal intellect, an unparalleled understanding of constitutional and antitrust law, a remarkable ability to think and write clearly on the most complex issues, and a steadfast commitment to improving the local and legal community."

Slaughter will take the place of Justice Brent Dickson, who retired on April 29 after 30 years on the bench.

Slaughter's appointment will be effective when he is sworn-in. The date of that ceremony hasn't been set.

The process of filling a vacancy on the state Supreme Court is different than on the federal level. 

The governor isn't involved in vetting or selecting applicants, and the state legislature has no role in the confirmation or selection of judges.

The Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission asks attorneys to apply for the Supreme Court vacancy.

Once three finalists are selected, the governor must choose one within 60 days.

If that does not take place, the Chief Justice makes the selection.