Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay is making its way through the state

Ends Oct. 15 at the Statehouse
Posted at 12:09 PM, Sep 10, 2016
and last updated 2016-09-10 14:17:55-04

CORYDON, Ind. --  You won't have to pay an admission fee if you happen to be at a state park the day the Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay passes through.

The Torch Relay started from the grounds of the state's first Capitol building Friday morning.

Former Indiana first lady Judy O'Bannon lit the torch during a ceremony attended by several hundred people in the southern Indiana town of Corydon and carried it from the stage to begin the statewide relay.

O'Bannon's late husband, Gov. Frank O'Bannon, was a Corydon native.

Organizers say some 2,000 torchbearers are expected to cover more than 3,200 miles through Indiana's 92 counties and 260 cities and towns before the relay ends Oct. 15 at the Statehouse in Indianapolis.

Indiana marks its 200th anniversary of becoming the nation's 19th state on Dec. 11

Check out the Torch Relay route

The Torch Relay will pass through nine state parks, and on the day the torch is at eight of the parks, admission fees will be waived. At Indiana Dunes State Park (Oct. 9) admission fees will be waived until 10 a.m. local time.

Here are the dates the torch will pass through state parks:

  • Sept. 10 at Lincoln State Park in Spencer County
  • Sept. 14 at Spring Mill State Park in Lawrence County
  • Sept. 20 at Brown County State Park
  • Sept. 21 at McCormick's Creek State Park in Owen County
  • Sept. 22 at Turkey Run State Park in Parke County
  • Sept. 29 at Chain O'Lakes State Park in Noble County
  • Sept. 30 at Ouabache State Park in Wells County
  • Oct. 2 at Pokagon State Park in Steuben County
  • Oct. 9 at Indiana Dunes State Park in Porter County (admission fee waived until 10 a.m. local time)