News and Headlines


Voter registration fraud investigation expands to 56 Indiana counties

Posted at 7:16 PM, Oct 06, 2016

INDIANAPOLIS -- The investigation of voter registration fraud in Indiana expanded Thursday from nine counties to a total of 56.

Indiana State Police began looking into voter fraud in Hendricks and Marion Countiesin August 2016.

Detectives say a group by the name of Indiana Voter Registration Project turned in forged voter registration applications. 

They say the group was altering already registered voter's information, changing the voter's address to an address not associated with the voter and without the voter's knowledge.

On Oct. 4, Allen, Delaware, Hamilton, Hancock, Johnson, Lake and Madison Counties were added to the voter fraud investigation.

As part of the investigation, the business offices of Indiana Voter Registration Project in the 2400 block of N. Meridian were raided.

In response to the raid, Patriot Majority USA President Craig Varoga said: 

“After all is said and done, when this partisan investigation finds no wrongdoing by the organization, Connie Lawson and the Indiana State Police will have prevented 45,000 African Americans from voting in this year’s elections.  That is why today we reported their outrageous actions to the Department of Justice."

State police say they aren't able to tell at this point how many registered voters may have victims of voter fraud. You may not know you've been affected until you go to vote and realize your information has been altered.

If you are affected, you'll need to cast a provisional ballot.

To make sure you haven't been affected by voter registration fraud, confirm your registration at

If there is inaccurate information, call the Indiana State Police Voter Registration Application Fraud tip line at 888-603-3147.

The Secretary of State's Office is also available to help voters from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. EST on regular business days by calling 866-461-8683.

The voter registration deadline in Indiana is Oct. 11. 

While all Indiana voters should confirm their voter registration information, it's especially important for voters who live in the counties being investigated:

1. Adams
2. Allen
3. Bartholomew
4. Benton
5. Blackford
6. Boone
7. Brown
8. Carroll
9. Cass
10. Clark
11. Clay
12. Clinton
13. Daviess
14. Dearborn
15. Decatur
16. DeKalb
17. Delaware
18. Dubois
19. Elkhart
20. Fayette
21. Floyd
22. Franklin
23. Fulton
24. Gibson
25. Grant
26. Greene
27. Hamilton
28. Hancock
29. Harrison
30. Hendricks
31. Henry
32. Howard
33. Huntington
34. Jackson
35. Jasper
36. Jay
37. Jefferson
38. Jennings
39. Johnson
40. Knox
41. Kosciusko
42. LaGrange
43. Lake
44. LaPorte
45. Lawrence
46. Madison
47. Marion
48. Marshall
49. Martin
50. Miami
51. Monroe
52. Montgomery
53. Morgan
54. Newton
55. Noble
56. Owen