Indianapolis News and Headlines


IndyGo announces winner of Red Line Station design

Posted at 6:28 PM, Aug 07, 2016
and last updated 2016-08-07 19:23:52-04

INDIANAPOLIS -- After weeks of soliciting votes, IndyGo has announced winners of the Red Line Station Design Competition.

The winning design was created by Sean Morrissey, who was awarded $5,000 and bragging rights. You can see the winner at the top of this story.

RELATED | Renderings of Red Line bus stops

Morrissey’s design, which incorporates the use of natural elements and customization options for neighborhoods, was chosen as the first choice of both the public and judges.

The design also includes an outdoor aesthetic judges believe will complement the Indianapolis Cultural Trail.

MORE | IndyGo’s Red Line: Everything you need to know

“This entry stood out because the design and materials celebrated neighborhoods,” said Mapleton-Fall Creek Development Corporation CEO, Leigh Riley Evans. “Both our jury and the public selected a station concept that is approachable and sensitive to the character of different neighborhoods along the Red Line.”

The panel of seven judges, who represented several professions in the Indianapolis community, collected about 2,000 votes through an online portal and public meetings held in July.

RELATED | Some Indy residents petition against Red Line

Second place earned DELV Design $2,000 and third place was taken by Darin Lanich who was awarded $1,000.

Awards are provided by IndyGo’s Art in Transit program that commits to, “integrate arts and design in the public transportation.”

The first phase of the Red Line is expected to open in 2018.