News and HeadlinesPolitics


Indiana Democratic Party calls on Braun, other Hoosier Republicans to resign

Posted at 3:23 PM, Jan 07, 2021

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Democratic Party is calling on the federal lawmakers who voted against certifying the electors for the 2020 Presidential election to resign.

The party released a petition that urges the following Republican federal lawmakers to resign:

  • Sen. Mike Braun
  • Rep. Jim Banks
  • Rep. Jim Baird
  • Rep. Greg Pence
  • Rep. Jackie Walorski

Braun initially objected to certifying the results in Arizona, but after the riots at the Capitol, he changed his mind. Banks, Baird, Pence and Walorski voted against certifying in Pennsylvania. Banks, Baird and Walorski voted against certifying in Arizona.

“These are strong statements, but after yesterday’s attempted coup on our government that follows years of silence or being sycophants to Donald Trump, U.S. Senator Mike Braun and Members of Congress Jim Banks, Jim Baird, Greg Pence, and Jackie Walorski showed their true colors, and it’s that they value the fringe ideology of Trumpism over protecting the U.S. Constitution and the fundamental values of the United States of America,” said Indiana Democratic Party Chairman John Zody.

It's unclear how many signatures the petition has.