When and where to vote in Marion County before municipal election

Posted at 8:46 AM, Oct 08, 2019
and last updated 2019-10-08 08:51:15-04

INDIANAPOLIS — Tuesday is the first day voters can cast their ballot early, ahead of the municipal election on November 5.

Council races and some school referendums are on ballots across the state.

One of the biggest races locally, is for Mayor of Indianapolis. Incumbent Mayor Joe Hogsett faces Republican challenger Jim Merritt.

You can vote early at the Marion County Clerk's office or at one of four satellite voting locations in the county.

In-person early voting is at the Marion County Clerk's Office, located inside the City-County Building.

Here are the early voting hours at the City-County Building:

October 8 - October 25: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.October 26 & 27: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. 
October 28 - November 1: 8 a.m. - 7 p.m.November 2 & 3: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. 
Last Day: November 4: 8 a.m. - Noon  

There are four satellite centers that will have early voting, as well. The centers are located at:

  • Krannert Park: 605 South High School Road
  • Perry township Government Center: 4925 Shelby Street (#200)
  • Warren Township Government Center: 501 North Post Road
  • Washington Township Government Center: 5302 North Keystone Avenue

Here are the early voting hours at the four satellite locations:

October 28 - November 1: 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.October 26 & 27: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
 November 2 & 3: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

On election day — November 5 — all of the almost 300 voter centers will be open 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Prepare to vote by learning more about candidates, try a sample ballot and more by clicking here.

Requirements to vote in Indiana:

  • You are both a U.S. citizen and a resident of Indiana; and
  • You will be at least 18 years of age on or before the next General or Municipal Election, and
  • You are not currently in prison after being convicted of a crime; and
  • You have lived in the precinct where you vote for at least 30 days prior to the election; and
  • You are registered to vote.