Details of Indy Eleven's season resumption becoming clearer

Posted at 3:38 PM, Jun 24, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-24 15:44:26-04

INDIANAPOLIS — The Indy Eleven have a better idea of what the rest of their season will look like when it resumes July 11.

The USL Championship announced an updated format for the remainder of the 2020 season on Wednesday. Clubs will be divided into eight regionalized groups and play a 16-game regular season followed by a single-elimination playoff.

On Friday, the USL Championship will announce the members of the eight groups, which will include five groups of four teams and three groups of five teams. The regular season will be played over 13 weeks beginning July 11 and ending the weekend of Oct. 2-4.

Games that were played before the USL Championship suspended its season in March will be counted and included in the schedule. Teams that were active the first weekend of the season will have 15 games remaining on their schedule. Indy Eleven defeated Memphis 901 FC 4-2 on March 7.

Indy Eleven will host a minimum of eight matches at Lucas Oil Stadium during regular season play.

The top two teams from each group in the regular season will advance to the 16-team USL Championship playoffs. Group winners will play group runners-up in the first round.

The league announced details on scheduling, ticketing options and broadcasts will be available in the coming days.