Travel Advisories issued in several central Indiana counties

Posted at 6:47 AM, Feb 13, 2020
and last updated 2020-02-13 06:47:03-05

Several inches of snow, rain and slush have left roads in parts of central Indiana messy Thursday morning.

INDOT and other road crews are still making their rounds and trying to clear roads and nearly 200 schools have already issued two-hour delays because of the conditions.

Because of the conditions Thursday morning, multiple counties in the state have issued Travel Advisories until road conditions improve.

It's important to note that as the snow moves out temperatures will continue to drop, which could cause re-freezing in some areas.

Below is a list of some of those advisories, you can find the FULL LIST HERE. The list will be updated as more advisories are added.

Travel Advisories:

  • Hamilton County
  • Boone County
  • Tipton County
  • Howard County
  • Clinton County
  • Madison County
  • Delaware County
  • Henry County
  • Carroll County
  • Tippecanoe County
  • Monroe County
  • Owen County
  • Rush COunty
  • Franklin county
  • Fayette County
  • White County

***Note: It is important to know that some counties do not clear travel advisories from the DHS list on a regular basis. You can view the date the advisory or watch was issued on the full list HERE.

The highest level of travel advisory is "Warning." This means that travel may be restricted to only emergency management workers only. During "Warning" refrain from all travel.

During a "Watch" travel advisory, only essential travel - such as to and from work - is recommended. "Advisory" is the lowest level, and is used to caution drivers of possible hazardous situations.