Perry Township schools changing start times next year

Posted at 8:04 AM, Feb 14, 2017
and last updated 2017-02-14 08:46:53-05

INDIANAPOLIS -- The 18 schools in Perry Township will start at different times next year, the school board decided Monday night.

In a 5-1 decision, the board voted to change start times for high schools, middle schools and elementary schools.

High schoolers will start at  7:15 a.m. and get out at 2:05 p.m.

The academies, middle school, Abraham Lincoln, Glenns Valley and Rosa Parks will begin at 8:10 a.m. and get out at 3 p.m., a 30-minute difference from the current times. According to the plan recommendation, the change will reduce the time students spend sitting idle on buses.

Clinton Young, Douglas MacArthur, Henry Burkhart, Homecroft, Jeremiah Gray, Mary Bryan, Southport and Winchester Village will start at 9:05 a.m., and end at 3:55 p.m.

If you need to know if your school is delayed or closed, check our closings page.

The changes will go into effect next school year.