NewsNational Politics


Current, former federal lawmakers from Indiana react to demonstrators breaching Capitol

Congress Electoral College
Posted at 3:41 PM, Jan 06, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-07 09:56:51-05

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Current and former federal lawmakers from Indiana have started to react to the breaching of the Capitol building in Washington, D.C.

Rioters in support of President Donald Trump broke into the building Wednesday afternoon, swarming the House and Senate chambers.

Republican Gov. Eric Holcomb:

“It’s both saddening and sickening to watch a mob devolve into thinking their rules would ever replace the rule of law. I unequivocally condemn the violence at the U.S. Capitol that we are now witnessing. Passion, patriotism and love for our nation should always and only be expressed in constructive ways that seek to honor the ideals on which our nation was founded. Any means of violence runs counter to who we are and is never acceptable.”

Republican Vice President Mike Pence:

Republican Sen. Todd Young:

Republican Sen. Mike Braun:

Former Democratic Sen. Joe Donnelly:

Republican Rep. Larry Bucshon:

Republican Rep. Jim Banks:

Republican Rep. Jackie Walorski:

Republican Rep. Victoria Spartz:

Former Republican Rep. Susan Brooks:

Republican Rep. Trey Hollingsworth: