Indianapolis News and HeadlinesPolitics


Sens. Braun, Young back term limits for members of Congress

Braun projected to defeat Donnelly for Senate
Posted at 7:13 PM, Jan 26, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-26 19:13:57-05

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The two U.S. senators from Indiana have introduced a Constitutional amendment to impose term limits on members of Congress.

Under the amendment, senators would be limited to two six-year terms and House members would be limited to three two-year terms.

Republican Sens. Mike Braun and Todd Young have joined four other Republican senators, Ted Cruz, Pat Toomey, Marco Rubio and Rick Scott.

“If there is one change that would immediately make Washington work more for Americans and less for the swamp, it’s term limits,” Braun said. “I’m proud to have signed a term limit pledge for myself and to support this constitutional amendment to break up the farm system of politics and take on the dysfunction in D.C.”

The amendment is not expected to pass. Click here to read it in full.