Who gets in? Three former Colts up for H.O.F.

Posted at 7:23 AM, Jan 08, 2016
and last updated 2016-02-06 18:38:20-05

INDIANAPOLIS -- While the country is watching Peyton Manning on Sunday, Indianapolis will be watching for three other former Colts on Saturday.

Coach Tony Dungy, receiver Marvin Harrison and running back Edgerrin James are eligible and could be the next inductees into the NFL Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio in August.

The announcement will be made sometime Saturday evening.

The other 12 finalists are: Morten Andersen, Steve Atwater, Don Coryell, Terrell Davis, Brett Favre, Kevin Greene, Joe Jacoby, John Lynch, Terrell Owens, Orlando Pace and Kurt Warner.

Up to eight people make it into the Hall of Fame each year.

RTV6 Sports Director Dave Furst believes Harrison will get in, but not James or Dungy.

Dungy was the head coach of the Colts from 2002-2008, winning 85 games with the team. Prior to coaching at Indianapolis, he was the head coach of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. He is the winningest coach in Colts history.

Harrison played from 1996-2008; his entire career was with the Colts. He is third in career NFL receptions, fifth in receiving touchdowns and seventh in receiving yards. He also owns the record for most catches in a single season with 143.

James played for the Colts from 1999-2005. He finished his career as the Colts' all-time leading rusher. 

James was playing for Arizona when the Colts won a Super Bowl in 2006, but owner Jim Irsay sent him a Super Bowl ring for his work for the team.


Download the new and improved RTV6 app to get the latest news on the go and receive alerts to your phone

Sign up to have the latest news headlines delivered straight to your email inbox