SportsIndy 500


BLOG | The 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500

IndyCar Indy 500 Auto Racing
Indy 500 Breakfast at the Brickyard Coverage
Posted at 7:06 AM, May 28, 2023
and last updated 2023-05-29 12:35:12-04

Final results below:

1.) Josef Newgarden

2.) Marcus Ericsson

3.) Santino Ferrucci

4.) Alex Palou

5.) Alexander Rossi

6.) Scott Dixon

7.) Takuma Sato

8.) Conor Daly

9.) Colton Herta

10.) Rinus Veekay

11.) Ryan Hunter-Reay

12.) Callum Ilott

13.) Devlin DeFrancesco

14.) Scott McLaughlin

15.) Helio Castroneves

16.) Tony Kanaan

17.) Marco Andretti

18.) Jack Harvey

19.) Christian Lundgaard

20.) Ed Carpenter

21.) Benjamin Pederson

22.) Graham Rahal

23.) Will Power

24.) Pato O'Ward

25.) Simon Pagenaud

26.) Agustin Canapino

27.) Felix Rosenqvist

28.) Kyle Kirkwood

29.) David Malukas

30.) Romain Grosjean

31.) Sting Ray Robb

32.) R.C. Enerson

33.) Katherine Legge

4:14 p.m.: Josef Newgarden has won the 107th Indianapolis 500 with a last lap pass of defending race winner Marcus Ericsson. Newgarden made the pass on the one-lap shootout finish that came after a multiple car crash on the front stretch.

3:56 p.m.: After a second red flag, the race will restart with less than five laps to go.

3:15 p.m.: A crash in turn two with 15 laps to go caused Kyle Kirkwood to flip and sent a wheel over the second turn safety fence, narrowly missing the grandstands.

2:42 p.m.: Romain Grosjean has crashed in turn two to bring out the second caution of the crash.

2:18 p.m.: Felix Rosenqvist leads at the 300-mile mark. Pato O'Ward runs second and Santino Ferrucci runs third.

2:05 p.m.: At the 100 lap mark, Pato O'Ward leads.

1:55 p.m.: Contact betwen contenders Alex Palou and Rinus Veekay on pit lane throws a wrench in the plan for both as they fight for their first Indy 500 win. Rinus Veekay will serve a drive thru penalty for the incident.

1:53 p.m.: Sting Ray Robb has crashed and is out of the race. Pato O'Ward leads the race.

1:45 p.m.: At the 200 mile mark, Pato O'Ward leads the way in what has been a clean race. Felix Rosenqvist runs second and Rinus Veekay in third.

1:30 p.m. Katherine Legge has stepped out of her car due to damage received in an accident on pit road. Alex Palou continues to lead.

1:15 p.m.: At the 100-mile mark of the race, Rinus Veekay leads the way.

IndyCar Indy 500 Auto Racing
Cars drive through the first turn to start the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Sunday, May 28, 2023. (AP Photo/Darron Cummings)

1:06 p.m.: Former winner Scott Dixon was forced to make an unscheduled pit stop due to a vibration in his wheel.

1:02 p.m. At the 50-mile mark of the race, Rinus Veekay and Alex Palou traded the lead multiple times early on in the race.

12:47 p.m.: The green flag has waved for the 107th running of the Indy 500. Graham Rahal, filling in for injured Stefan Wilson in the No. 24 car was unable to start due to a mechanical issue.

At 12:45 p.m. on May 28th the green flag will wave on the 107th running of the Indy 500.

Join us LIVE for Brunch at the Brickyard starting at 11 a.m. right here, on the WRTV YouTube channel, the WRTV app and on WRTV!

In case you're wondering, it looks like it's going to be a beautiful race day here in Speedway!

7 a.m.
The gates to the Snake Pit are now OPEN! Check out all of these people that were lined up outside.

Snake Pit Gates Open

6 a.m.
The cannon sounds and the fireworks explode to signal the gates opening as fans begin pouring in for the 107th running of the Indianapolis 500!

WRTV is LIVE at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway bringing you the sights and sounds of race day morning on Breakfast at the Brickyard.

Watch Below.