NewsNational Politics


Sen. Mike Braun, other GOP senators no longer plan to object Biden's win

Mike Braun
Posted at 9:12 PM, Jan 06, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-06 21:12:55-05

WASHINGTON — Multiple Republican senators have reversed course and now say they won’t object to congressional certification of President-elect Joe Biden’s victory.

Their change of heart came after violent demonstrators stormed the U.S. Capitol earlier Wednesday and interrupted their proceedings. One person was fatally shot.

Sens. Steve Daines of Montana, Mike Braun of Indiana and Kelly Loeffler of Georgia all said in light of the violence they would stand down from planned objections to Biden’s win.

On Saturday, Braun and 10 other Republican senators said they would reject electors from "disputed states."

PREVIOUS | Sen. Mike Braun, other GOP senators say they will reject election results

Braun posted a picture of him signing his "objection to Arizona electors" on Wednesday.

Lawmakers gathered to certify the Electoral College votes from each state were forced to evacuate after an angry mob of Trump supporters descended on the Capitol. Loeffler said that the “violence, the lawlessness, and siege of the halls of Congress” were a “direct attack” on the “sanctity of the American democratic process.”

"What we’re seeing at the Capitol is wrong, hurts the cause of election integrity, and needs to stop immediately," Braun said in a later tweet. "Rioting and violence are never acceptable."

Loeffler has just days left in her term. She lost her Senate race to Democrat Raphael Warnock earlier Wednesday.

READ | Current, former federal lawmakers from Indiana react to demonstrators breaching Capitol | RNC says violence at Capitol is not 'patriotism'