SportsIndy 500


BLOG | The 108th Running of the Indianapolis 500

IndyCar Indy 500 Auto Racing
Posted at 5:47 AM, May 26, 2024

INDIANAPOLIS — On May 28th the green flag is scheduled to wave on the 108th running of the Indy 500.

Throughout the day, WRTV will keep you updated on the weather. You can follow a live stream of Indy 500 weather updates or visit the WRTV weather page.

For updates throughout the race, follow below. Updates will fill in with most recent content directly below this.

The final results of the 108th Indy 500 is as follows:

  1. Josef Newgarden
  2. Pato O'Ward
  3. Scott Dixon
  4. Alexander Rossi
  5. Alex Palou
  6. Scott McLaughlin
  7. Kyle Kirkwood
  8. Santino Ferrucci
  9. Rinus VeeKay
  10. Conor Daly
  11. Callum Ilott
  12. Christian Rasmussen
  13. Christian Lundgaard
  14. Takuma Sato
  15. Graham Rahal
  16. Sting Ray Robb
  17. Ed Carpenter
  18. Kyle Larson
  19. Romain Grosjean
  20. Helio Castroneves
  21. Kyffin Simpson
  22. Agustin Canapino
  23. Colton Herta
  24. Will Power
  25. Marco Andretti
  26. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  27. Felix Rosenqvist
  28. Linus Lundqvist
  29. Katherine Legge
  30. Marcus Armstrong
  31. Tom Blomqvist
  32. Pietro Fittipaldi
  33. Marcus Ericsson

7:44 p.m.

Josef Newgarden has won the Indy 500 for the second year in a row. He started the race in third position. The final lap saw a close battle between Newgarden and Pato O'Ward.

7:17 p.m.

At the 400 mile mark of the race, Pato O'Ward and Alexander Rossi were neck and neck for first position. Scott Dixon closely follows.

7:00 p.m.

On lap 147, Will Power crashed and is out of the race. He started in second position. The eighth caution flag of the day is out with 53 laps to go.

6:40 p.m.

At the 300 mile mark, Scott McLaughlin, Josef Newgarden and Alexander Rossi are in the top three positions.

6:33 p.m.

On lap 114, Marco Andretti crashed in turn 1 but is OK. The caution flag is out.

6:24 p.m.

The caution flag came out on lap 108 after Ryan Hunter-Reay and Scott Dixon made contact on the back straightaway.

6:20 p.m.

The 2024 Indy 500 is now official. Josef Newgarden leads at lap 101.

6:04 p.m.

Colton Herta crashed. He was running in second position at the time of the crash. The caution flag is out on lap 86. He returned to the track 17 laps down.

6:00 p.m.

200 miles into the race, Scott McLaughlin is in the lead. Conor Daly and Colton Herta follow.

5:38 p.m.

Felix Rosenqvist had a mechanical failure. The caution flag is out on lap 57.

5:31 p.m.

We are a quarter of the way through the race and Scott McLaughlin is leading with Santino Ferrucci close behind.

5:14 p.m.

On lap 27, Conor Daly takes the lead. On lap 28, Linus Lundqvist crashed in turn 1 and is out of the race.

5:09 p.m.

On lap 23, a caution flag was thrown when Katherine Legge had a mechanical failure. She is out of the race.

5:07 p.m.

Marcus Armstrong is out with mechanical failure. 20 laps in, Scott McLaughlin leads with teammates Will Power and Josef Newgarden close behind.

4:44 p.m.

The green flag dropped and a crash occurred in the first two turns involving Marcus Ericsson, Pietro Fittipaldi and Tom Blomqvist.

4:23 p.m.

Grammy nominated singer and season six winner of American Idol, Jordin Sparks returned to the track to sing the National Anthem. The singer also sang it ahead of the 2015 race.

4:20 p.m.

Phillip Phillips sings “God Bless America” as pre-race festivities proceed for the 108th Indy 500.

3:40 p.m.

Crews are drying the track. An updated schedule of pre-race events is released. Green flag is estimated to begin at 4:44 p.m.

2:05 p.m.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway announces that fans can return to the grandstands as the lightning has moved out of Speedway.


1:00 p.m.

Fans are sheltering as they wait for the heavy rain to pass over.

Screenshot 2024-05-26 161934.png

12:50 p.m.

A Severe Thunderstorm Warning has been issued for Marion County, including Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The track remains in a holding pattern.

11:15 a.m.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway has officially delayed the Indianapolis 500 and pre-race traditions.

In a social media post, track personnel say, "Given the proximity of lightning moving toward the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, a decision has been made to pause the pre-race ceremonies and move fans out of the grandstands and Snake Pit. Spectators are encouraged to follow the instructions of IMS team members. They should exit the grandstands in an orderly fashion and implement their personal safety plans. The start of the 108th Running of the Indianapolis 500 will also be delayed. Additional updates on timing will be communicated."

10:45 a.m.

IMS President Doug Boles announces that all track activities will pause at or around 11:15 a.m. as storms come closer to the facility.

Fans will be asked to leave the grandstands and Snake Pit as lightning is included with incoming storms.

Boles says fans will not miss any pre-race traditions due to the delays.

7 a.m.

The gates to the Snake Pit are now OPEN! Timmy Trumpet is scheduled to be first on stage at 8:15 a.m.

6:20 a.m.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway President Doug Boles holds a morning of race day operations press conference.

Boles expressed the IndyCar and IMS teams concerns for customers today at the track. Boles says their teams will continue to monitor incoming storms and will have updates for fans throughout the morning.

6 a.m.
The cannon sounds and the fireworks explode to signal the gates opening as fans begin pouring in for the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500!